April 2019 – Long List

We had a fantastic response to our first short story competition, with some excellent stories spanning all sorts of different genres.

The first round of judging has taken place, and we’re delighted to reveal our long list of authors for the April 2019 competition:

Barbara Billington
Judy Birkbeck
Daniel Brotzel
John Bunting
Spencer Chou
Chris Cottom
Steve Deighan
Catherine Edmunds
Judy Goodswen
Alyson Hilbourne
Rachel Hill
Susan Hoffman
John Holland
Jason Jackson
Thomas Jameson
Matt Oliver
Penny Rickman
John Riglin
Ruth Saunderson
Enda Francis Scott
Jake Stimmel
Robert Thurber
Betty Weiner
Barbara Young
Jack Young

Congratulations to you all!

We now have the dauntning task of whittling your great stories down to a short list, before chosing first, second and third places. The short list will be announced, and the three placed stories published here on our website, on 11th June.

Didn’t make the long list?  That may not have been because of the quality of your story… Sadly, some of the entries we received had to be disqualified due to them not adhering to one or more of the competition rules of entry. If you’re entering a story again in future competitions – and we hope you do – please make sure you read and follow all the rules carefully.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s