August 2021 – Flash shortlist and winners

Publication day for our flash print anthology is fast approaching, so we’ve made sure the judges have worked extra hard this quarter to come up with their winning entries and shortlist as soon as possible.

Decisions have been made, and we are delighted to publish the top two winning entries:

1st: Richard HootonWashing Day

2nd: Hilary CoyneThe Brians

Congratulations! Prize money will be with you soon, and your stories are published here on our website.

And well done to the following writers who made it onto the shortlist:

Edward Barnfield
Cath Barton
Oliver Barton

Laura Besley
Chris Cottom
Rae Cowie
Keith Geaney
Paul Goodwin

James Hancock
James Harvey
Alex Hawksworth
Carrie Hynds
Jonathan McLaughlin
Ruth Saunderson
Chrissy Sturt
Alison Wassell

Both our writing competitions are open all year round with quarterly deadlines, so why not have a go and enter your work – we love to read and publish the best, both here on our site and in our annual print anthologies.

Enter our 1500 word Short Story Competition – next deadline is 31 October.

Enter our 500 word Flash Fiction Comptition. – next deadline 30 November.

Good luck!