October 2020 – shortlist and winners

An unprecedented number of entries this quarter meant an unusually large longlist, but the judges have worked long and hard to get it down to this final shortlist and the three winning entries.

Every single qualifying entry was read and studied [yes, we are still receiving some entries which go into the disqualified pile because they don’t follow all the rules of entry] and we’re delighted to publish the following placed entries:

1st: Tesni JenkinsSoldier Boy

2nd: Rachel RobbinsWinning

3rd: Guilherme RibeiroA Summer Carol

Prize money is on its way to you, and your stories are published here on our website.

Well done to the following writers who made it to the shortlist:

Emilie Akoka; Cath Barton (1 story); Simon Birinder; Hollie Brennan; Gillian Brown; Rebecca Burns; Colette Coen; Paddy Doherty; Eoghan Doyle (1 story); Jonathan Gurling; James Hancock (2 stories); Radhika Iyer (1 story); Gwenda Major; David McVey (1 story); Sherry Morris; Liane Smith (1 story); Andy Stewart; M Q Tate; Gillian Welby (1 story); James Woolf; Alex Zyms.

Both our writing competitions are open all year round with quarterly deadlines, so why not have a go and enter your work – we love to read and publish the best, both here on our site and in our annual print anthologies.

Enter our 1500 word Short Story Competition.

Enter our 500 word Flash Fiction Comptition.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s