April 2022 – shortlist and winners

It’s a busy time here at CAHQ, and we have some fantastic offers for writers and readers…

We’ve extended our special offer of ‘4 for the price of 3’ on the current flash fiction submission window (deadline August 31st). You can find out all the details here.

In addition, we’re planning to roll out that special offer on our other competitions as soon as the next new submission windows open. We announced it a few days ago here on our website, which you can read here.

And finally, our brand new print anthology is now available to pre-order, in advance of its publication next month. It’s a limited print run, and many copies have already been ordered, so don’t miss out if you want to secure yourself a copy.

But now, on to our latest batch of winners; these from the April 22 short story competition. Congratulations to the following three winning entries:

1st: Rachel RobbinsSome Opening Sentences

2nd: David HartleyThis Is How It Will Be

3rd: Alex Hawksworth-BrookesLindisfarne, 793

Prize money is on its way to you, and your wonderful stories are published here on our website.

And well done to the following writers who made it to the shortlist:

Valerie Bowes
Sarah Brown
Letty Butler
Russell Dunphy
Gillian M Sainsbury
Alberta Swan